CSM Foundation Board of Governors

Executive Committee

Patrick M. James '68

  • Former Director of Stillwater Mining Company
  • Mines Distinguished Achievement Medal, 1995
  • Serves on Mines, Mining Industry Council; previously served as Reunion gift volunteer, Transforming Resources campaign volunteer, Trustee Development Council, and Mines Advisory Board member
  • Mines Century Society; Guggenheim member of the President’s Council

Charles E. Shultz '61
Vice Chair

  • Founder and former Chairman and CEO of Dauntless Energy
  • Mines Distinguished Achievement Medal, 1996
  • Serves on the CECS Advisory board; served on Mines Advisory Board, past Chair of President’s Council, campaign committees, reunion committees, Mines Visiting Committee – Geology, Geology Enhancement Committee, and Trustee Development Committee
  • Mines Century Society; Guggenheim member of the President’s Council

Steven R. Enger '81

  • President, Edge Energy, 2016
  • Mines Alumni Association Young Alumnus Award, 1992
  • Chair of the Parent Committee, 2013
  • President’s Council member

Gerald W. Grandey '68
Development Committee

  • Retired as CEO of uranium-producer Cameco Corporation in 2011, completing an 18-year career with the company
  • Mines Distinguished Achievement Medal, 2000
  • Served on Mines Trustee Development Council, 1998–2000, and Class Chair of the reunion Giving Program, 2007
  • Mines Century Society, Guggenheim member of the President’s Council, and Heritage Society

Bruce E. Grewcock '76
Human Resources and Compensation Committee

  • President and CEO of Kiewit since 2004, a privately-held construction and mining firm that is one of the largest contractors in the world.
  • Mines Distinguished Achievement Medal, 1999
  • Current Member of the Mines Visiting Committee – Mining Department, Chaired the Class of ’76 Reunion Giving Program in 2001, Transforming Resources campaign Major Gifts Committee member from 2000 – 2006, Mines Advisory Board member from 2003 – 2009
  • Mines Century Society, Guggenheim member of the President’s Council

Hugh E. Harvey, Jr. '74 '80
Audit Committee

  • Executive Vice Chairman of the Board for Intrepid Potash since 2010 and a member of the Board since the company’s formation in 2007. Previously served as chief technology officer, chief operating officer and executive vice president of technology
  • Awarded the first Mines Tourmaline Award for exceptional philanthropic commitment, 2009; Distinguished Achievement Medal, 2011
  • Past Chair of the Class of ’74 Reunion Giving Program
  • Mines Century Society, Guggenheim member of the President’s Council

Andrew P. Swiger '78
At Large Member

  • Senior Vice President and Principal Financial Officer of Exxon Mobil Corporation, where he has also held a variety of technical positions in production, operations, engineering, planning and gas and power marketing
  • Mines Distinguished Achievement Medal, 2010
  • Served as a Mines Executive Lecturer, 2008
  • Former class chair of the Reunion Giving Committee and former member of the Marquez Hall Campaign Committee
  • Mines Century Society, Guggenheim member of the President’s Council

Terrance G. Tschatschula
Budget and Finance Committee

  • Current President of Blue Sky Energy, a biofuel company
  • Founder and President of Aspen Petroleum Products
  • Appointed to the Mines Board of Trustees in 2001 and 2005. Previously served as Board Secretary and as representative to the Mines Alumni Association Board of Directors
  • President’s Council member

George F. Wood '65
Investment Committee

  • Founded Wood & Company, an independent investment management firm, in 1982. Merged with Obermeyer Asset Management in 2014 and serves as Co-Chairman
  • Mines Medal, 2012
  • Member of the Foundation Investment Committee since 2001, serving as Chairman since 2006, and was a previous volunteer for reunion and giving program committees
  • Mines Century Society, Guggenheim member of the President’s Council

Board Members

Nathan M. Avery '56
GH Services, LLC

J. Samuel Butler '68
Trinity Petroleum Management, LLC

Stephen D. Chesebro' '64
Harvest Natural Resources

John K. Coors '77
CoorsTek, Inc.

Marshall C. Crouch III '67
White Eagle Exploration, Inc.

Rodney J. Eichler '71 '73
Apex International Petroleum MGMT, LLC

Ben L. Fryrear '62

Vernon A. (Bud) Isaacs, Jr. '64
Rim Operating Inc.

Howard E. Janzen '76 '77
Cool Planet Energy Systems

Nancy A. Keegan '82

Harold M. Korell '68

Robert E. McKee III '68

Charles S. McNeil '71
NexGen Resources Corporation

F. Steven Mooney '56
Mooney Enterprises

James L. Payne '59

Thomas A. Petrie
Petrie Partners

M. Ward Polzin '84
Camino Natural Resources, LLC

William A. Preston '58

Thomas W. Rollins '53
Rollins Resources

Neal E. Schmale '68

Fred C. Schulte '68
GTL Energy

Sandra (Sandy) M. Stash '81
Tullow Oil PLC

David J. Wagner
Wagner and Associates, P.C.

J. Steven Whisler '84
Brunswick Corporation

Barth E. Whitham '79 '82
Enduring Resources, LLC

Honorary Governor

Robert G. Harston

Board of Trustees Liaison

Patricia K. Starzer '83

CSMAA Liaison

Timothy J. Haddon '70

To see the full biographies for all Board of Governors members and committees, click here.